A newsworthy story in Sunnynook? Problematic from the get-go. Researching copious amounts of new stories based on the area, I was presented with a perfect illustration of my neighbourhood.

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 6.15.12 PM.png

To be ‘worthy’ means to possess qualities that deserve the stipulated action or respect. These values comprise of timing, significance, proximity, prominence and human interest. From this week’s lessons, I have learned through these standards are extremely important, however, the audience cares more about how the story is actually written rather than the topic of said news. To catch the eye of the audience, a striking headline or intro is essential to arouse the curiosity of the casual reader or listener. (Sissons, 2006) So basically, if I come up with a few nifty headlines, I pass the assignment, (I wish).

Searching for topics within my area might be a tricky task considering I have never even set sight on my neighbours, but I guess as a rookie journalist I better start somewhere. Who knows, maybe there’s a crook living in the nook? Perhaps, a hero dog story or even a tale of one’s journey up Mt. Everest. One thing is for sure, with road works due to poor grate systems and flooding on muddy grass, I’ll definitely be able to dig up some dirt soon enough, pun intended.

Leave a Reply

