After reading multiple #poj16 blog entries, I’ve come to realise that unlike others, the news has not always been a fascination of mine. In fact, as a kid I found news frustrating due to my powerlessness to help, forced to just sit in front of the box and apprehensively await change out of my own hands. As I’ve grown older and technology has developed, my interest in mass media has matured equally. Knowing the power that journalism has in affecting people inspires me to influence for good.

As I’ve grown older and technology has developed, my interest in mass media has matured equally. Knowing the power that journalism has in affecting people inspires me to influence for good.

In 2015, whilst travelling overseas, I came across the Newseum in Washington D.C. Immediately falling in love with the place, one area, in particular, sparked my interest, Photojournalism.

Always having a love for photography and writing, I knew from that moment, that my life would consist of exposing the world’s news and communicating stories through photographs.

By taking Principles of Journalism this year, my dream seems to be edging closer into grasp.

In light of this, what exactly is journalism? As aforementioned, whilst technology has advanced, so has the influence of journalism in mass media. With varied definitions and opinions on what it means to be a journalist, I believe that writing a blog or ‘tweeting’ is not equivalent with that of professional journalism. Without the ‘real’ journalists, we wouldn’t receive the news that we, citizen journalists, then pass on. “The simple ownership of a computer doesn’t transform one into a serious journalist any more than having access to a kitchen turns one into a serious cook”. (Keen, 2007, p.46).

Finding out that I would be creating a story based on my street made me anxious. Moving into my second house of the year, a fear of the unknown overwhelms me. At the same time, I look forward to stepping out of my comfort zone to see what this paper and degree has to offer. I hope to see all of my fellow classmates through to the end… Or should I say, beginning?12010691_10203551830395252_5346825080219650092_o

Leave a Reply

